The F1 Grid for 2010 – An Almost Final Version

June 24, 2009

A press release just issued by the FIA concerning the World Motor Sport Council meeting of 24 June 2009, has now unconditionally listed thirteen entrants for the 2010 FIA Formula One World Championship:


McLaren Mercedes/Mercedes
BMW Sauber/BMW
Scuderia Toro Rosso/TBA
Red Bull Racing/Renault
Force India/Mercedes
Team US F1/Cosworth

The teams have agreed to commit themselves to the current commercial agreement until the end of 2012, as well as ‘reducing costs to the level of early 1990s’. What is interesting is what is not said at this point. For example there was no reference to how the cost reduction process would be managed and the exact level of cost reduction. In 1992 Frank Williams’ team employed 190 people (they also won the world championship that year), whereas in 2008 they employed 540, so as a rough proxy we’re looking at a 65% reduction in infrastructure from 2008 levels. There was also no explicit statement regarding engine regulations and whether the Cosworth engines used by the three new entrants would be required to meet current regulations. The statement does say that the rules for 2010 onwards will be the 2009 regulations and any changes agreed prior to 29 April 2009. My reading of this is that Cosworth will either have to spend a lot of time and money modifying their engines or the engines will be supplied from the existing FOTA members.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: